Questions about the SHCA Recognition Program?

Contact SHCA at shca@aha.org

2013 SHCA Recognition Program


The 2013 SHCA Recognition program is designed to recognize members who have demonstrated exemplary service and contribution to the Society and to the profession of healthcare patient advocacy.

There are five awards that offer you and your colleagues the opportunity to garner the special recognition that is much deserved. Check out all of the awards by reviewing the overview below.

Recipients who earn an APEx award between April 2013 and January 2014 will be honored at the 2014 SHCA Annual Conference.


APEx Professional Achievement Program

The SHCA Professional Achievement Program is designed to acknowledge and promote individual achievement of professional excellence in the field of patient advocacy and consumer affairs. The program offers recognition on three levels; Achieved, Distinguished and Fellow, in order to encourage the professional development of all Society members. Formal recognition is presented at the annual conference in the form of a framed certificate. 


Click here to learn more and access the application forms

 Ruth Ravich Award

This award recognizes an individual whose work supports the vision of the Society – to bring the patients’ needs to the center of healthcare.  The first award was presented in 1991 to Ruth Ravich, the Society’s first president, and for whom the award is named.  To learn more or nominate a peer, please
click here. The recipient will be awarded a complimentary registration and one night stay at the headquarter hotel.

 National Healthcare Consumer Advocacy Award

This award recognizes an outstanding community or national leader and/or group who have made a significant impact on the quality of care for the healthcare consumer.  To learn more or apply,
click here. The award recipient will receive a complimentary Annual Conference registration and one night hotel stay at the headquarter hotel. The recipient will also be presented with a recognition award during the SHCA Annual Conference.

 Writing Contest

If you have written a white paper or case study that has been implemented as a best practice, or perhaps even published an article that you wish to share, consider applying for this contest. Sharing your work is an excellent way to educate, as well as promote yourself, your profession, your organization, and your Society.  To learn more or apply, click here. The award recipient will receive a complimentary SHCA certificate program module registration and $50 SHCA bookstore gift certificate to be used at the onsite or online conference bookstore.

 Chapter Recognition Award

This award is designed to promote and recognize chapter achievement and success. Two first-place awards will be given.  One award will be made to a chapter with fewer than 30 members, and one to a chapter with 30 or more members. The chapter recipients will be awarded one (1) free membership to the Society and one (1) complimentary 2014 SHCA Annual Conference registration.  To learn more or apply, click here. The deadline for this award is February 7, 2014.

Award Deadlines and Formal Recognition

APEx applications are accepted year-round. In order to be recognized at the 2014 annual conference, applications must be submitted to the SHCA office by January 31, 2014.

The individual member award deadline is January 31, 2014

The Chapter Award has a February 7, 2014 deadline.